Port Moody promotes civic engagement through a series of awards that recognize city residents, businesses, and organizations for their contributions to the community. Learn about all of the awards and recognitions in Port Moody.

Freedom of the City Award

The Freedom of the City is the highest honour that Port Moody can give to an individual or distinguished unit of the armed forces of Canada or another nation. It is awarded to acknowledge contributions to the community or to those who have brought recognition to the City through their achievements.

Details and nomination information

Exemplary Civic Service award

The Exemplary Civic Service award recognizes an individual or group that Council feels has contributed significantly to Port Moody's current and future well-being by showing leadership, initiative, commitment, and commendable effort.

Details and nomination information

Civic awards

Through our Civic Awards program, Port Moody Committees recognize deserving people, organizations, and businesses throughout the city. Each year, nominations are accepted in the following six categories:

  • Peter Hulbert Accessibility Award
  • Arts Award
  • Climate Action Award
  • Environmental Award
  • Heritage Award
  • Sports Award

Details and nomination information

COVID-19 Community Service Award

The COVID-19 Community Service Award recognizes an individual, community group, or business that has gone above and beyond during the COVID-19 pandemic to serve neighbours in need, vulnerable groups, or the community at-large.  

Details and nomination information

Spike Business Awards

The Spike Business Awards celebrate the contribution of Port Moody businesses to the community and recognize businesses that impressed residents in a variety of ways.  

Each year, nominations are accepted in the following five categories:

  • Arts in Business
  • Environmental Leadership
  • Inclusive Excellence
  • Young Entrepreneur

Details, nomination information and recipients